Thursday, April 1, 2010

Windows 7 help

In November I upgraded my computer system to Windows 7, 32-bit. I then had issues with my plugins running for PSP. So after much work and help from a friend who has Windows 7, 64-bit, we came up with a solution that made it possible to use most plugins with Versions of PSP. Below I am posting a tutorial that was created for our Learning Groups, Chelseas Creators Corner and Maeves Creators Corner.
We found that you will need the 10 DLL & other types of files. These can be downloaded here.
Then where to place these files is listed here according to the bit system you are running.
For Windows 7 32-bit, unzip the rar file into your C: Windows System Folder AND your C: Windows System 32 folder.
For Windows 7 64-bit, unzip the rar file into your C: Wndows/SySWow64. You may also have to install to your System folder as well, if Plugins do not work when installed in SySWow64 folder.

We also found that you may have to adjust settings to your DEP and UAC through the control panel.
Here is what we found helped our systems work. Please read all the information below before doing any changes to your computer.

Windows 7 & Vista plugins not working help
Keep in mind that making modifications to the two areas will have some effect on the Microsoft security features. One is your DEP settings, the other is you UAC settings. I recommend that they have a firewall and anti virus program running at all times as well as current with all updates, & that they keep their Windows updates current, and with the following changes it may be essential that you have these all in place. You as the user of your computer makes the decision, weigh the pros and cons, to decide as to whether or not you will make the changes as indicated below.
DEP - stands for Data Execution Prevention. This is in place on computer operating systems XP, Vista, and Windows 7. Locating them is the only difference. I can only tell you from the Windows 7 standpoint since that is what I am running on how to locate them. With more feedback from others we can determine where the other Operating Systems are located and if it has any effect on the issues.
Next is the UAC. This is where when I made the changes, that it really had an effect on my PSP X2 and the plugins I have had issues with (Xenofex 1, Ulead's, and Eye Candy 3.1 for all version of PSP that I am running)
UAC - stands for User Account Control.
This is a security feature of Windows 7, and I think Vista (again will be able to say for sure with more feedback for users of XP and Vista) to prevent harmful programs from making changes to your computer.


Windows 7 & Vista - 32 & 64 bit
To locate DEP - Click on START (bottom left corner of your task bar (has the Windows logo on it)
Control Panel - click it


System and Security from the list click on the Words "System and Security", not the options that are available



Click on the word "System" in the next screen


Look for the Advanced System settings on the left side listing (the bottom one in the list)
Click it


A System Properties box will come up and on my computer it defaulted to the Advanced Tab. If yours does not, click it.


The top option is Performance, and there is a Settings button
Click the Settings button


A Performance Option box will come up, it has 3 tabs (Visual Effects, Advanced, and Data Execution Prevention)
Click the Data Execution Prevention Tab


Mine defaults to the Turn on DEP for essential Windows programs and services only.
This is what we want.


Click OK twice to return to the System screen





To locate UAC, activate your Control Panel from the Start menu


Look for User Accounts and Family Safety and click on the words "User Accounts and Family Safety"


In the next screen click on "User Accounts", again click on the words, not the options that are available.


In the white area of the main screen, at the very bottom is "Change User Account settings"
Click it


A screen with a slider bar on the left side will come up. The top of the slider bar is "Always Notify", and the bottom is Never Notify. In between both are two (2) more settings. Mine was defaulted to the 2nd from the top.
Slide this slider all the way to the bottom; "Never Notify" (The display on the right side will tell what the settings do for your security if you decide to change to it)
Click OK.



You will have to Restart your computer at this point for the change to go into effect.
Once your computer has restarted, open PSP. For me, the plugins I had problems with were working, and I hope they will be for you as well.
Written by Deborah in NC & Karen
Date written 12-16-09

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Valentine 1

Valentine 1
by Deborah in NC


This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah on January 29, 2010.
Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.

Skill Level: Intermediate

Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X3, will work in other versions)
These items are in the zip file found here
-~~~dkj_crumpled heart (Mask - place in your Masks folder)
-bowhearts1-sandi
-lz.perfectly pink
-ma1_msvalentineqe
-You will also need a font of choice (I used Auld Town Script) - included in zip file
No outside plugins are used in the tutorial.
All settings, unless otherwise stated remain the same.

Method:

Step 1.
Open PSP.

Step 2.
Open font, if using mine, and minimize to taskbar. Windows 7 users - you will probably have to install the font.
Step 3.
Open the 3 tube images in PSP. Minimize for now.

Step 4.
Select two colors for your material palette, they can be from the tubes or your own choice.
One light, set as your Foreground color (I used #dfc0f4)
One medium, set as your Background color (I used #f9617e)

Step 5.
File>New
Settings: Width & Height: 500, Raster & Transparent: checked



Step 6.
Flood fill tool (Default settings) and flood fill the new image with Foreground color


Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add Noise: Gaussian: checked, Noise: 25, Monochrome: checked


Step 7.
Layers>New Raster Layer
Flood fill with Background color
Layers>Load/Save Mask>Load mask from disk
Locate ~~~dkj_crumpled heart in the pulldown menu
Settings: Source luminance: checked, Fit to Canvas: checked, Invert transparency: UNchecked, Hide all mask: checked. Load.



Layers>Merge>Merge group
Image>Resize: 90, Percent, Resize all layers: Unchecked

Step 8.
Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 2, 2, 65, 6, Black, Unchecked


Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: -1, -1, 45, 15, Black, Unchecked

Adjust>Blur>Motion Blur: 95, 65

Effects>Edge Effects>Enhance
Repeat Effects>Edge Effects>Enhance

Step 9.
Maximize lz.perfectly pink
Edit>Copy, close original
Edit>Paste>Paste as new layer
Image>Resize: 80%, Resize all layers: UNchecked


Image>Free Rotate: Right, 25, nothing else checked

Move to top left part of the heart (see my header for example)
Layers>Properties>Blend mode: Luminance (Legacy)

Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 2, 2, 60, 15, Black, UNchecked

Step 10.
Maximize bowhearts1-sandi
With mover tool, select one of the hearts that match your color selections (I used the pink one)
Edit>Copy, Close original
Edit>Paste>Paste as new layer
Image>Resize: 35%, Resize all layers: Unchecked


Mover tool, move to the top right heart (see my header for placement)
Note: You can colorize if you want to match your color choices. I used Manual Color Correction: Settings: Manual target color: checked, Source: the main pink color in the tube (#fabfe0), Target: Background color

Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: same settings as before

Step 11.
Maximize ma1_msvalentineqe
Edit>Copy, Close original
Edit>Paste>Paste as new layer
Image>Resize: 60%, Resize all layers: Unchecked


Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: same settings as before
Mover tool, move to bottom right corner

Step 12.
Activate Text tool.
Add text as desired (I used Auld Town Script, Size 48, pixels, Bold, Centered, Direction: Vertical and Left, Anti-alias: Sharp, Width: 1, Vector: Selected, Line Style: Solid, Warp text: checked, Auto kern: checked, Kerning: 0)



I used "Love" for mine, but feel free to add whatever you wish.
Optional: Then I clicked on the vectored text layer + sign in the front, to open the vector layer up.

Objects>Convert Text to Curves>As character shapes.

Click on the new + sign, to open up the individual letter layers.

Click on the L, a vector box will appear around it, the L only, click on the center node and move to place.

Click on each of the remaining letters layers, and move to position.
To move the word or words at one time, click on the named vector layer and vector box will appear around the whole word.

Step 13.
After you have positioned the letters where you want, Layers>Convert to Raster layer
Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #1, 8, 0, 20, 0, 0, white, 315, 50, 30


Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: same settings as before

Step 14.
Layers>Merge>Merge all (flatten)
Image>Canvas Size: Width and Height: 520, Color: Foreground, Centered


Magic Wand: Settings: Mode: Replace, Match Mode: RGB Value, Tolerance: 0, Use all layers/Sample merged: UNchecked, Contiguous: checked, Feather: 0, Antialias: checked, Outside: selected

Apply Magic Wand inside the newly created edge
Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add noise: as before
Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #2, 8, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 315, 50, 30

Selections>Float
Effects>3D Effects>Cutout: 0, 0, 80, 7, black, Unchecked

Selections>Select None

Step 15.
Image>Add Border: Symmetric: checked, Top: 5, Color: Background


Apply Magic Wand inside the newly created edge
Effects>Reflection Effects>Pattern: 0, 0, 90, 0, 3, 3, 0, 0

Effects>Edge Effects>Enhance
Selections>Select None

Step 16.
Image>Add Border: Symmetric: checked, Top: 10, Color: Foreground


Apply Magic Wand inside the newly created edge
Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add noise: as before
Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #2, 8, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 315, 50, 30
Selections>Float
Effects>3D Effects>Cutout: 0, 0, 80, 7, black, Unchecked
Selections>Select None

Step 17.
Layers>New raster layer
Add watermark

Step 18.
Image>Resize to desired size

Step 19.
File>JPG optimizer: Compression: 20


Locate folder to save in
Name your file
Save

That's it you have now done your Valentine.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and thank you for trying it. If so, feel free to leave a comment, they are nice to see but not required.

LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah on January 29, 2010, and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, these programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation. Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission.
Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson@gmail.com.
If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/

Mask by Deborah in NC
Tubes by Mary, and unknown, through group shares

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Kitten & Butterfly Mini Tagger Kit

Here is a new mini tagger size kit, based on a challenge from a group I belong to. In the preview below, all elements are shown, but not all papers. There are 16 elements, and 7 papers. I hope you enjoy!

Links to download:

4 share

Huggers,

Deborah in NC