Showing posts with label New Year. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New Year. Show all posts

Monday, December 27, 2010

New Year Greeting

New Year Greeting
by Deborah in NC




Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X3, will work in other versions)
Zip File is 
-aclis_ny_25_12_2008
-mjnewyear008
-NYG pattern
-PlumaSegunda


Plugin Used

Mystic Nights>Frosted Glass - 
Simple>Diamonds -
Italian Editor Effects>Disturbo Zoom -


Getting It All Together


1. Install Plugins before opening PSP

2. Open PSP
Open the tubes in PSP and minimize

3. Material Palette
Foreground: #b8c6e8
Background: #263a72
Or use colors of own choice. A very light color for the Foreground, and a dark color (in the same color family as the foreground color)

4. Change Foreground to Gradient
Settings: Foreground/Background, Angle: 45, Repeats: 3, Invert: Unchecked, Linear selected

5. Change Background to Gradient
Settings: Foreground/Background, Angle: 45, Repeats: 3, Invert: Unchecked, Radial selected, Center Point; Horizontal & Vertical: 50, Focal Point; Horizontal & Vertical: 50, Link center and focal points

6. Open font in font viewer of choice and minimize


Method


1. File > New Image: Pixels: Selected, Width: 500, Height: 400, Raster & Transparent: Checked
Flood fill tool (default settings) and Flood fill new image with Foreground gradient

2. Raster > New raster layer
Flood fill with Background gradient
Layers > Properties: Change Blend Mode: Overlay

3. Layers>Merge>Merge Visible

4. Maximize aclis_ny_25_12_2008, activate mist layer
Edit>Copy
Minimize

5. Back to working copy
Edit > Paste as new layer

6. Layers > Properties: Change Blend Mode: Overlay

7. Layers > Merge > Merge Visible

8. Effects > Image Effects > Seamless Tiling: Default settings

9. Effects > Plugins > Mystic Nights > Frosted Glass
Settings: 15, Custom Colors: 1st square: white, 2nd square: #d7d9cf, rest of squares: black

10. Layers>New raster layer
Edit > Paste as new layer (your mist layer)

11. Move Tool, move to right side

12. Maximize mjnewyear008
Edit > Copy

13. Back to Working Copy
Edit > Paste as new layer

14. Resize to fit in the top left corner (I used 40%, Resize all layers: Unchecked)

15. Image > Mirror

16. Adjust > Sharpness > Sharpen

17. Move tool, move to top left corner

18. Material Palette: Change BG to pattern
Settings: NYG pattern, Angle: 0, Scale: 65

19. Material Palette: Change FG to null

20. Activate Text Tool
Font: PlumaSegunda, Size will vary based on version of PSP (I used 72), Create as Vector, the other settings are your preference

21. Add text of choice, I typed my first Word, then applied it, then the 2nd word, finally the 3rd word
Since it is Vector, click on the plus sign of "Vector" Layer
This will expand the Vector layer so you can see all the layers
Click on the one you want to adjust and the nodes will appear around the text

22. Use center node to position text where you want
Repeat for all lines of text you added

23. Effects > 3D Effects>Drop Shadow
Settings: 3, 3, 80, 3, Black, Unchecked

24. Repeat Drop Shadow

25. Activate top hat layer
Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow
Settings: Settings the same, Except change Blur: 10

26. We will be adding some borders here, and the setting Symmetric will stay checked
Image>Add borders: 2, select BG, then I changed the color to a darker color of my BG color (#131725)

27. Image > Add borders: 10, Foreground

28. Image > Add borders: 2, darker BG

29. Image > Add borders: 10, White

30. Image > Add borders: 2, darker BG

31. Image > Add borders: 10, BG (original)

32. Image > Add borders: 2, darker BG

33. Magic Wand
Settings: Mode: Add (Shift), Match mode: Tolerance: 0, Sample Merged/Use all layers: Unchecked, Contiguous: Checked, Feather: 0, Anti-alias: Checked, Outside: Outside: Selected

34. Select the white border with the magic wand

35. Flood fill with Foreground Gradient
Do not Deselect

36. Maximize the mjnewyear008 image
Edit > Copy
Close original

37. Back to working copy
Edit > Paste into Selection (into the white border)

38. Effects > Plugins > Simple > Diamonds

39. Effects > Plugins > Mystic Nights > Frosted Glass: settings as before

40. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel
Settings: #2, 5, 0, 5, 0, 0, White, 315, 50, 30

41. Selections > Select None

42. Magic Wand the 10 pixel outer dark border

43. Selections > Modify > Contract: 3

44. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel
Settings: as before

45. Selections > Modify > Expand: 3

46. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel
Settings: as before

47. Selections > Select None

48. Magic Wand inside the light blue 10 pixel border

49. Effects > Plugins > Italian Editor Effects > Disturbo Zoom: Default settings (0, 0, 213)

50. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel
Settings: as before

51. Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow,
Settings: as before

52. Effects > 3D Effects > Drop Shadow
Settings: change only the Vertical &; Horizontal: -3

53. Selections > Select None

54. Layers > New raster layer

55. Add watermark
Layers > Merge > Merge All (flatten)

56. Resize to desired use

57. Jpeg and save



I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and thank you for trying it. If so, feel free to leave a comment, they are nice to see but not required.


LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, the programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation.
Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission.
Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson3@gmail.com.
If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/


Graphics: artists unknown, if yours, please let me know so I can give you proper credit
Tuber: Champagne: ACLIS
http://www.aclisdesigns.com.ar

Written: 12-19-10


Monday, December 21, 2009

New Year - New Choices

New Year - New Choices
by Deborah in NC


PDF Version of this tutorial can be found here

Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X2, tested in 9 & X, will work in other versions with a few modifications)
Font of choice, I used Avalon Medium a PTU font found here
Supplies zip file here includes:
-007_verloop8a-ca
-1024-flower (by LaManouche other work available here or here)
-1163-luzcristina (by Luz Cristina other work available here)

Material palette: Select a light color of choice, your favorite color and set as your FG color. For BG change to pattern and open a pattern of choice or use mine from the zip (Settings for mine were Angle 68, Scale: 100)

1. Open 1024-flower. Duplicate image, close original.

2. Delete the watermark layer

3. Colorize to FG color

4. Duplicate Image (Shift + D). Minimize one copy

5. Open 1163-luzcristina.

6. Edit>Copy

7. Close original

8. Edit>Paste>Paste as a new layer

9. Move to bottom right corner of image

10. Layers>New Raster layer

11. Layers>Arrange>Send to bottom

12. Flood fill with FG

13. Selections>Select All

14. Maximize 2nd copy of flower, Edit>Copy, minimize copy

15. Edit>Paste>Paste into selection. Select None.

16. Effects>Image Effects>Seamless tiling: default settings

17. Adjust>Blur>Gaussian Blur: 10

18. Layer palette, activate the flower tube layer. Layers>Properties: Blend Mode: Soft Light

19. Layer palette, activate the woman and child layer. Layers>Properties: Blend Mode: Luminance (Legacy)

20. Layers>Merge>Merge all (flatten)

21. Selections>Select all

22. Selections>Modify>Contract: 3

23. Selections>Invert

24. Layers>New raster layer

25. Flood fill with BG (pattern)

26. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #12, 5, 10, 3, 5, 0, white, 315, 30, 50



27. Selections>Select None

28. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 0, 0, 100, 15, black, Unchecked

29. Repeat Drop Shadow

30. Layers>Merge>Merge Visible

31. New Image: Width: 1600, Height: 900, pixels, Raster Transparent (we are making large so that when we resize you will have a nice clear image)

32. Flood fill with FG color

33. Selections>Select All

34. Maximize 2nd flower image. Edit>Copy. Close flower image.

35. Edit>Paste>Paste into selection

36. Selections>Select None

37. Effects>Image Effects>Seamless tile: deafault

38. Layers>Properties: lower opacity 50 to 70, your choice so that the image is pale in color

39. Layers>Merge>Merge All

40. Activate image created above. Edit>Copy. Minimize if you want to use as a header or tag, otherwise you can close the image

41. Edit>Paste>Paste as a new layer

42. Mover tool to position where you want the image to be. Mine is in the middle right. Be sure to leave space on the sides of about 20-30 pixels

43. Layers>Properties>Blend mode: Luminance (Legacy)

44. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: as before

45. Text Tool: Font of choice (I used Avalon), Size: (2010 about double the size of the other text, New about 50% of 2010, rest of text I used 72), Bold: Selected, Centered: Selected, Vector: selected, Width: 0) and add text
2010, New..., Year...Beginnings...,Hopes...Dreams...

46. Position Text as desired

47. Layers>Convert to Raster layer

48. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 2, 2, 85, 5, black, Unchecked

49. Layers>New raster layer

50. Add watermark

51. Layers>Merge>Merge All

52. Resize to your monitor size (if necessary, Lock Aspect Ratio: Unchecked)

53. jpeg and save

That's it, you are done. You now have a desktop to ring in the New Year and Resolutions for the New Year.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and thank you for trying it. If so, feel free to leave a comment, they are nice to see but not required.

LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, the programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation. Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission. Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson@gmail.com. If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/

Friday, December 18, 2009

Wake Up It's A New Year

Wake Up It's A New Year
by Deborah in NC
here is an example of what we will be making


PDF version of this tutorial can be found here

Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X, will work in other versions)
-!!!dkj_121309_scatter_mask
-BS_JCLeyendecker_New_Year's_Baby_LDM
-KMHappyNewYear2Shea
Supplies zipped can be found here


No outside plugins are used in this tutorial

1. New image: 500 x 500, pixels, Raster, Transparent (this is our working copy)

2. Flood fill with white

3. Open !!!dkj_121309_scatter_mask in PSP, Minimize

4. Open BS_JCLeyendecker_New_Year's_Baby_LDM in PSP

5. Edit>Copy

6. Minimize original

7. Working copy, Paste as a new layer.

8. Image>Resize: 50% (baby layer only)

9. Move to bottom right corner

10. Drop Shadow: -15, 10, 30, 5, Black, UNchecked

11. Open KMHappyNewYear2Shea in PSP

12. Edit>Copy

13. Close original

14. Working copy, Paste as a new layer.

15. Image>Resize: 50% (New Year Word Art layer)

16. Move to top left corner

17. Drop Shadow: 3, 3, 60, 5, Black, UNchecked

18. Layer palette, activate bottom layer (white layer)

19. Layers>New Raster layer

20. Material palette: FG: Select a color from the Happy New Year words layer, BG: Select a 2nd color from the Happy New Year words layer

21. Material palette: change BG to Foreground/Background gradient (Settings: Angle: 67, Repeats: 0, Linear)

22. Flood fill new raster layer with BG (gradient)

23. Layers>New Mask layer> From image (Settings: Select !!!dkj_121309_scatter_mask, Source Luminance, Invert mask data: UNchecked). OK

24. Layers>Merge>Merge All (flatten)

25. New image: 300 x 300, pixels, raster, transparent

26. Flood fill with BG (gradient)

27. Selections>Select All

28. Maximize BS_JCLeyendecker_New_Year's_Baby_LDM

29. Edit>Copy

30. Close original

31. Edit>Paste>Paste into selection

32. Selections>Select None

33. Effects>Image Effects>Seamless Tile: default settings

34. Adjust>Blur>Radial Blur: Settings: Twirl: checked, Strength: 70, Twirl Degrees: 0, Elliptical: checked, Horizontal, Vertical offset, & Protect Center: 0

35. Repeat Radial Blur

36. Back to working copy

37. Material palette: change FG to pattern, select pattern you just made (Settings: Angle: 68, Scale: 200)

38. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

39. Image>Add border: 7, color: BG, Symmetric: checked

40. Image>Add border: 10, color: white, Symmetric: checked

41. Magic Wand (Settings: Add/Shift, RGB, Tolerance: 0, Use all layers/Sample layer: UNchecked, Contiguous: checked, Feather: 0, Antialias: check, Outside: selected) inside the new border

42. Flood fill with FG (pattern)

43. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel (Settings: #1, 2, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 225, 40, 50)

44. Selections>Select None

45. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

46. Image>Add border: 7, color: FG, Symmetric: checked

47. Image>Add border: 30, color: white, Symmetric: checked

48. Magic Wand inside the new border

49. Flood fill with FG (pattern)

50. Effects>Artistic Effects>Topography (Settings: Width: 5, Density: 83, Angle: 45, Color: white

51. Selections>Float

52. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 0, 0, 90, 25, FG, UNchecked)

53. Selections>Modify>Contract: 5

54. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 0, 0, 90, 25, BG, UNchecked)

55. Selections>Modify>Contract: 5

56. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 1, 1, 40, 6, Black, UNchecked)

57. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: -1, -1, 40, 6, Black, UNchecked)

58. Selections>Select None

59. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

60. Image>Add border: 7, color: BG, Symmetric: checked

61. Image>Add border: 10, color: white, Symmetric: checked

62. Magic Wand inside the new border

63. Flood fill with FG (pattern)

64. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel settings as before

65. Selections>Select None

66. Image>Add border: 7, color: FG, Symmetric: checked

67. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

68. Selections>Select All

69. Selections>Modify>Contract: 82

70. Selections>Float

71. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 1, 1, 70, 6, Black, UNchecked)

72. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: -1, -1, 70, 6, Black, UNchecked)

73. Selections>Invert

74. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel (Settings: #1, 20, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 225, 40, 50)

75. Selections>Select None

76. Layers>New raster layer

77. Add watermark

78. Add text as desired

79. Resize and save

You are done.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and I wish you a very Happy New Year. Thank you for trying the tutorial. If you enjoyed the tutorial, please feel free to leave a comment in the comments section below. Comments are nice to see but not required.


LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, the programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation. Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission. Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson@gmail.com. If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/


Tubes by: LDM & KM, and were through group share
Mask by: Deborah in NC

A special thank you to the ladies who tested this tutorial: jeanne, Karen, Patt, and Pastor Karen