Saturday, January 30, 2010

Valentine 1

Valentine 1
by Deborah in NC


This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah on January 29, 2010.
Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.

Skill Level: Intermediate

Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X3, will work in other versions)
These items are in the zip file found here
-~~~dkj_crumpled heart (Mask - place in your Masks folder)
-bowhearts1-sandi
-lz.perfectly pink
-ma1_msvalentineqe
-You will also need a font of choice (I used Auld Town Script) - included in zip file
No outside plugins are used in the tutorial.
All settings, unless otherwise stated remain the same.

Method:

Step 1.
Open PSP.

Step 2.
Open font, if using mine, and minimize to taskbar. Windows 7 users - you will probably have to install the font.
Step 3.
Open the 3 tube images in PSP. Minimize for now.

Step 4.
Select two colors for your material palette, they can be from the tubes or your own choice.
One light, set as your Foreground color (I used #dfc0f4)
One medium, set as your Background color (I used #f9617e)

Step 5.
File>New
Settings: Width & Height: 500, Raster & Transparent: checked



Step 6.
Flood fill tool (Default settings) and flood fill the new image with Foreground color


Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add Noise: Gaussian: checked, Noise: 25, Monochrome: checked


Step 7.
Layers>New Raster Layer
Flood fill with Background color
Layers>Load/Save Mask>Load mask from disk
Locate ~~~dkj_crumpled heart in the pulldown menu
Settings: Source luminance: checked, Fit to Canvas: checked, Invert transparency: UNchecked, Hide all mask: checked. Load.



Layers>Merge>Merge group
Image>Resize: 90, Percent, Resize all layers: Unchecked

Step 8.
Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 2, 2, 65, 6, Black, Unchecked


Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: -1, -1, 45, 15, Black, Unchecked

Adjust>Blur>Motion Blur: 95, 65

Effects>Edge Effects>Enhance
Repeat Effects>Edge Effects>Enhance

Step 9.
Maximize lz.perfectly pink
Edit>Copy, close original
Edit>Paste>Paste as new layer
Image>Resize: 80%, Resize all layers: UNchecked


Image>Free Rotate: Right, 25, nothing else checked

Move to top left part of the heart (see my header for example)
Layers>Properties>Blend mode: Luminance (Legacy)

Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 2, 2, 60, 15, Black, UNchecked

Step 10.
Maximize bowhearts1-sandi
With mover tool, select one of the hearts that match your color selections (I used the pink one)
Edit>Copy, Close original
Edit>Paste>Paste as new layer
Image>Resize: 35%, Resize all layers: Unchecked


Mover tool, move to the top right heart (see my header for placement)
Note: You can colorize if you want to match your color choices. I used Manual Color Correction: Settings: Manual target color: checked, Source: the main pink color in the tube (#fabfe0), Target: Background color

Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: same settings as before

Step 11.
Maximize ma1_msvalentineqe
Edit>Copy, Close original
Edit>Paste>Paste as new layer
Image>Resize: 60%, Resize all layers: Unchecked


Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: same settings as before
Mover tool, move to bottom right corner

Step 12.
Activate Text tool.
Add text as desired (I used Auld Town Script, Size 48, pixels, Bold, Centered, Direction: Vertical and Left, Anti-alias: Sharp, Width: 1, Vector: Selected, Line Style: Solid, Warp text: checked, Auto kern: checked, Kerning: 0)



I used "Love" for mine, but feel free to add whatever you wish.
Optional: Then I clicked on the vectored text layer + sign in the front, to open the vector layer up.

Objects>Convert Text to Curves>As character shapes.

Click on the new + sign, to open up the individual letter layers.

Click on the L, a vector box will appear around it, the L only, click on the center node and move to place.

Click on each of the remaining letters layers, and move to position.
To move the word or words at one time, click on the named vector layer and vector box will appear around the whole word.

Step 13.
After you have positioned the letters where you want, Layers>Convert to Raster layer
Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #1, 8, 0, 20, 0, 0, white, 315, 50, 30


Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: same settings as before

Step 14.
Layers>Merge>Merge all (flatten)
Image>Canvas Size: Width and Height: 520, Color: Foreground, Centered


Magic Wand: Settings: Mode: Replace, Match Mode: RGB Value, Tolerance: 0, Use all layers/Sample merged: UNchecked, Contiguous: checked, Feather: 0, Antialias: checked, Outside: selected

Apply Magic Wand inside the newly created edge
Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add noise: as before
Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #2, 8, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 315, 50, 30

Selections>Float
Effects>3D Effects>Cutout: 0, 0, 80, 7, black, Unchecked

Selections>Select None

Step 15.
Image>Add Border: Symmetric: checked, Top: 5, Color: Background


Apply Magic Wand inside the newly created edge
Effects>Reflection Effects>Pattern: 0, 0, 90, 0, 3, 3, 0, 0

Effects>Edge Effects>Enhance
Selections>Select None

Step 16.
Image>Add Border: Symmetric: checked, Top: 10, Color: Foreground


Apply Magic Wand inside the newly created edge
Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add noise: as before
Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #2, 8, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 315, 50, 30
Selections>Float
Effects>3D Effects>Cutout: 0, 0, 80, 7, black, Unchecked
Selections>Select None

Step 17.
Layers>New raster layer
Add watermark

Step 18.
Image>Resize to desired size

Step 19.
File>JPG optimizer: Compression: 20


Locate folder to save in
Name your file
Save

That's it you have now done your Valentine.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and thank you for trying it. If so, feel free to leave a comment, they are nice to see but not required.

LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah on January 29, 2010, and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, these programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation. Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission.
Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson@gmail.com.
If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/

Mask by Deborah in NC
Tubes by Mary, and unknown, through group shares

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Kitten & Butterfly Mini Tagger Kit

Here is a new mini tagger size kit, based on a challenge from a group I belong to. In the preview below, all elements are shown, but not all papers. There are 16 elements, and 7 papers. I hope you enjoy!

Links to download:

4 share

Huggers,

Deborah in NC

Monday, December 21, 2009

New Year - New Choices

New Year - New Choices
by Deborah in NC


PDF Version of this tutorial can be found here

Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X2, tested in 9 & X, will work in other versions with a few modifications)
Font of choice, I used Avalon Medium a PTU font found here
Supplies zip file here includes:
-007_verloop8a-ca
-1024-flower (by LaManouche other work available here or here)
-1163-luzcristina (by Luz Cristina other work available here)

Material palette: Select a light color of choice, your favorite color and set as your FG color. For BG change to pattern and open a pattern of choice or use mine from the zip (Settings for mine were Angle 68, Scale: 100)

1. Open 1024-flower. Duplicate image, close original.

2. Delete the watermark layer

3. Colorize to FG color

4. Duplicate Image (Shift + D). Minimize one copy

5. Open 1163-luzcristina.

6. Edit>Copy

7. Close original

8. Edit>Paste>Paste as a new layer

9. Move to bottom right corner of image

10. Layers>New Raster layer

11. Layers>Arrange>Send to bottom

12. Flood fill with FG

13. Selections>Select All

14. Maximize 2nd copy of flower, Edit>Copy, minimize copy

15. Edit>Paste>Paste into selection. Select None.

16. Effects>Image Effects>Seamless tiling: default settings

17. Adjust>Blur>Gaussian Blur: 10

18. Layer palette, activate the flower tube layer. Layers>Properties: Blend Mode: Soft Light

19. Layer palette, activate the woman and child layer. Layers>Properties: Blend Mode: Luminance (Legacy)

20. Layers>Merge>Merge all (flatten)

21. Selections>Select all

22. Selections>Modify>Contract: 3

23. Selections>Invert

24. Layers>New raster layer

25. Flood fill with BG (pattern)

26. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #12, 5, 10, 3, 5, 0, white, 315, 30, 50



27. Selections>Select None

28. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 0, 0, 100, 15, black, Unchecked

29. Repeat Drop Shadow

30. Layers>Merge>Merge Visible

31. New Image: Width: 1600, Height: 900, pixels, Raster Transparent (we are making large so that when we resize you will have a nice clear image)

32. Flood fill with FG color

33. Selections>Select All

34. Maximize 2nd flower image. Edit>Copy. Close flower image.

35. Edit>Paste>Paste into selection

36. Selections>Select None

37. Effects>Image Effects>Seamless tile: deafault

38. Layers>Properties: lower opacity 50 to 70, your choice so that the image is pale in color

39. Layers>Merge>Merge All

40. Activate image created above. Edit>Copy. Minimize if you want to use as a header or tag, otherwise you can close the image

41. Edit>Paste>Paste as a new layer

42. Mover tool to position where you want the image to be. Mine is in the middle right. Be sure to leave space on the sides of about 20-30 pixels

43. Layers>Properties>Blend mode: Luminance (Legacy)

44. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: as before

45. Text Tool: Font of choice (I used Avalon), Size: (2010 about double the size of the other text, New about 50% of 2010, rest of text I used 72), Bold: Selected, Centered: Selected, Vector: selected, Width: 0) and add text
2010, New..., Year...Beginnings...,Hopes...Dreams...

46. Position Text as desired

47. Layers>Convert to Raster layer

48. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: 2, 2, 85, 5, black, Unchecked

49. Layers>New raster layer

50. Add watermark

51. Layers>Merge>Merge All

52. Resize to your monitor size (if necessary, Lock Aspect Ratio: Unchecked)

53. jpeg and save

That's it, you are done. You now have a desktop to ring in the New Year and Resolutions for the New Year.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and thank you for trying it. If so, feel free to leave a comment, they are nice to see but not required.

LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, the programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation. Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission. Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson@gmail.com. If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/

Friday, December 18, 2009

Wake Up It's A New Year

Wake Up It's A New Year
by Deborah in NC
here is an example of what we will be making


PDF version of this tutorial can be found here

Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X, will work in other versions)
-!!!dkj_121309_scatter_mask
-BS_JCLeyendecker_New_Year's_Baby_LDM
-KMHappyNewYear2Shea
Supplies zipped can be found here


No outside plugins are used in this tutorial

1. New image: 500 x 500, pixels, Raster, Transparent (this is our working copy)

2. Flood fill with white

3. Open !!!dkj_121309_scatter_mask in PSP, Minimize

4. Open BS_JCLeyendecker_New_Year's_Baby_LDM in PSP

5. Edit>Copy

6. Minimize original

7. Working copy, Paste as a new layer.

8. Image>Resize: 50% (baby layer only)

9. Move to bottom right corner

10. Drop Shadow: -15, 10, 30, 5, Black, UNchecked

11. Open KMHappyNewYear2Shea in PSP

12. Edit>Copy

13. Close original

14. Working copy, Paste as a new layer.

15. Image>Resize: 50% (New Year Word Art layer)

16. Move to top left corner

17. Drop Shadow: 3, 3, 60, 5, Black, UNchecked

18. Layer palette, activate bottom layer (white layer)

19. Layers>New Raster layer

20. Material palette: FG: Select a color from the Happy New Year words layer, BG: Select a 2nd color from the Happy New Year words layer

21. Material palette: change BG to Foreground/Background gradient (Settings: Angle: 67, Repeats: 0, Linear)

22. Flood fill new raster layer with BG (gradient)

23. Layers>New Mask layer> From image (Settings: Select !!!dkj_121309_scatter_mask, Source Luminance, Invert mask data: UNchecked). OK

24. Layers>Merge>Merge All (flatten)

25. New image: 300 x 300, pixels, raster, transparent

26. Flood fill with BG (gradient)

27. Selections>Select All

28. Maximize BS_JCLeyendecker_New_Year's_Baby_LDM

29. Edit>Copy

30. Close original

31. Edit>Paste>Paste into selection

32. Selections>Select None

33. Effects>Image Effects>Seamless Tile: default settings

34. Adjust>Blur>Radial Blur: Settings: Twirl: checked, Strength: 70, Twirl Degrees: 0, Elliptical: checked, Horizontal, Vertical offset, & Protect Center: 0

35. Repeat Radial Blur

36. Back to working copy

37. Material palette: change FG to pattern, select pattern you just made (Settings: Angle: 68, Scale: 200)

38. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

39. Image>Add border: 7, color: BG, Symmetric: checked

40. Image>Add border: 10, color: white, Symmetric: checked

41. Magic Wand (Settings: Add/Shift, RGB, Tolerance: 0, Use all layers/Sample layer: UNchecked, Contiguous: checked, Feather: 0, Antialias: check, Outside: selected) inside the new border

42. Flood fill with FG (pattern)

43. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel (Settings: #1, 2, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 225, 40, 50)

44. Selections>Select None

45. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

46. Image>Add border: 7, color: FG, Symmetric: checked

47. Image>Add border: 30, color: white, Symmetric: checked

48. Magic Wand inside the new border

49. Flood fill with FG (pattern)

50. Effects>Artistic Effects>Topography (Settings: Width: 5, Density: 83, Angle: 45, Color: white

51. Selections>Float

52. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 0, 0, 90, 25, FG, UNchecked)

53. Selections>Modify>Contract: 5

54. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 0, 0, 90, 25, BG, UNchecked)

55. Selections>Modify>Contract: 5

56. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 1, 1, 40, 6, Black, UNchecked)

57. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: -1, -1, 40, 6, Black, UNchecked)

58. Selections>Select None

59. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

60. Image>Add border: 7, color: BG, Symmetric: checked

61. Image>Add border: 10, color: white, Symmetric: checked

62. Magic Wand inside the new border

63. Flood fill with FG (pattern)

64. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel settings as before

65. Selections>Select None

66. Image>Add border: 7, color: FG, Symmetric: checked

67. Image>Add border: 1, color: white, Symmetric: checked

68. Selections>Select All

69. Selections>Modify>Contract: 82

70. Selections>Float

71. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: 1, 1, 70, 6, Black, UNchecked)

72. Effects>3D Effects>Cutout (settings: -1, -1, 70, 6, Black, UNchecked)

73. Selections>Invert

74. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel (Settings: #1, 20, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 225, 40, 50)

75. Selections>Select None

76. Layers>New raster layer

77. Add watermark

78. Add text as desired

79. Resize and save

You are done.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and I wish you a very Happy New Year. Thank you for trying the tutorial. If you enjoyed the tutorial, please feel free to leave a comment in the comments section below. Comments are nice to see but not required.


LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, the programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation. Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission. Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson@gmail.com. If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/


Tubes by: LDM & KM, and were through group share
Mask by: Deborah in NC

A special thank you to the ladies who tested this tutorial: jeanne, Karen, Patt, and Pastor Karen

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Seasons Reason

Seasons Reason
by Deborah in NC

PDF Version can be found here:

Supplies Needed:
PSP (written in PSP X2, will work in other versions)
-DCIC Cranberry Season Papers here
-Paper 20
-Paper of choice
Tubes here
-dkj_09_Reason_Season_121209
-dkj_09_Reason_Season_Star_121209


1. Open Paper 20 from DCIC Cranberry Season Papers.

2. Duplicate (Shift + D).

3. Minimize original.

4. The Duplicate image is our working copy.

5. Open dkj_09_Reason_Season_121209

6. Edit>Copy

7. Close original

8. Paste as a new layer

9.Image>Resize layer: 60%, Bicubic

10. Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Moire Pattern Removal: Fine Details: 1, Remove Bands: 4

11. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: Vertical: -20, Horizontal: 0, Opacity: 20, Blur: 35, Color: #fce6a7, Shadow on new layer: UNchecked

12. Repeat Drop Shadow

13. Open dkj_09_Reason_Season_Star_121209

14. Edit>Copy

15. Close original

16. Paste as a new layer

17. Move to top left corner

18. Colorize if desired

19. Selections>Select All

20. Selections>Float

21. Selections>Defloat

22. Selections>Modify>Expand: 20

23. Layers>New raster layer

24. Layers>Arrange>Move Down

25. Material palette: change FG to #f8ca29 and BG to a15e00

26. Material palette: change FG to gradient Settings: Foreground/Background, Angle: 0, Repeats: 19, Radial: selected, Vertical & Horizontal: 50

27. Flood fill tool: Flood fill selection with FG (gradient)

28. Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add Noise: Gaussian: checked, Noise: 50, Monochrome: checked

29. Selections>Select None

30. Adjust>Blur>Blur More

31. Smudge Brush tool (settings: Round, Size: 15, Hardness: 50, Step: 10, Density: 35, Thickness: 100, Rotation: 0, Opacity: 100, All layers/Sample layers: UNchecked

32. Place the smudge brush tool on the rounded edge as indicated here:

33. Click, hold and "flick" slightly to drag out from the edge, you should have something like this:

34. Repeat the smudge in the same place if needed to make it look like my example above

35. Move to the next rounded edge, and repeat the smudge as above.

36. Repeat smudge for remaining rounded edges

37. Activate the Star layer (top layer)

38. Effects>3D Effects>Drop Shadow: V&H: 3, Opacity: 100, Blur: 4, Color: black, Shadow new layer: Unchecked

39. Repeat Drop Shadow with this change only: V&H: -3

40. Layers>Merge>Merge All

41. Image>Add borders: 1, symmetric checked, Color: black

------------------------------
42.*1 - Image>Add borders: 7, symmetric, white

Magic Wand (settings: Add/Shift, RGB Value, Tolerance: 0, All layers: UNchecked, Contiguous: checked, Feather: 0, Anti-alias: checked, Outside: selected) inside new border

Flood fill with FG (gradient)

Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: #1, 2, 0, 2, 0, 0, white, 315, 86, 20

Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add noise: as before

Select None
------------------------------

43. Image>Add border: 10, symmetric, white

44. Magic wand inside new border

45. Maximize DCIC Cranberry Season Paper 20

46. Edit>Copy

47. Reminimize

48. Image>Paste into selection

49. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: as before

50. Repeat *1 above

51. Image>Add border: 20, symmetric, white

52. Magic Wand inside new border

53. Select and open a 2nd paper of choice from DCIC Cranberry Season Papers

54. Edit>Copy

55. Close image

56. Image>Paste into selection

57. Effects>3D Effects>Inner bevel: as before only change color to FG

58. Adjust>Add/Remove Noise>Add Noise: as before

59. Effects>Distortion Effects>Ripple (Settings: Center offset - Horizontal: 50.00, Vertical: 50 / Settings - Amplitude: 10, Wavelength: 40 / Edge Mode: Transparent: checked

60. Selections>Select None

61. Image>Add border: 7, symmetric, white

62. Magic wand inside new border

63. Maximize DCIC Cranberry Season Paper 20

64. Edit>Copy

65. Close

66. Image>Paste into selection

67. Effects>3D Effects>Inner Bevel: as before, only change color back to white

68. Selections>Select None

69. Add text as desired

70. Resize & save for desired use.

That's it, you are done!

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, and thank you for trying it. If so, feel free to leave a comment, they are nice to see but not required.


LEGAL INFO:
This tutorial was written and designed by Deborah and is made using teaching and tips gained from the web and PSP, Animation Shop, and the other programs used, the programs listed Help feature; and is my own creation. Any resemblance to other tutorials available is coincidental.
Please do not share this tutorial or to place it on any web site without my written permission. Please do not translate this tutorial into any other language without my written permission: kay2ndjackson@gmail.com. If sharing, please direct to my blog site at: http://deborahscornerincyberspace.blogspot.com/